How to microblog in high heels

A geek girl's guide to social media and online engagement

Help me crowdsource slides for my #newsrw presentation

I’m finalising the last touches to my presentation at journalism.co.uk’s news:rewired conference and when thinking about slides to illustrate my presentation, I kept coming back to the idea I that my Twitter & blog followers can probably come up with something more creative and different than I can think of (after exhausting all my creative slide-making juices on my recent Storywheel presentation for #icwsm). What’s more, the presentation is on ‘the power of the crowd’, so I wanted to experiment to see if my crowd to help illustrate various points!
To get involved:
Simply send me the link to your photo/Flickr image/slide via Twitter @hrwaldram with the hastag #SlideforHannah and I’ll pick it up.
If you haven’t taken the image let me know so I can contact the person who holds the copyright (but would be even more AWESOME if you were the author).

Some inspiration for slides:

  • Pictures which demonstrate engaged communities (I know, right – maybe some Lego men shaking hands or something…. get creative!)
  • On that note, ANYTHING LEGO related always works a treat…
  • Also, (sounds unrelated but it’s not), there’s a bit when I talk about video games & player participation – maybe Super Mario – feel free to work on this theme
  • Readers – what do they look like?
  • Likewise, community coordinators?
  • Knowledge – I need a slide to represent knowledge. No books please.
  • Instagram, the official tool for making things look better. If you send me an Instagram from your daily business, I will almost certainly make use of it somehow

So that should give you something to get on with this weekend🙂 Just to reiterate, this isn’t me being lazy – but trying to illustrate a point, and at the same time harness the power of the crowd. Plus I’ll post the slideshow and talk here for everyone to see (and everyone who takes part will get a special mention).

UPDATE Mon 9 July: Thanks for the couple of slides sent my way! I’ve finished my presentation now. Thanks to those who took part!

Written by hrwaldram

July 6, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Posted in journalism, Online Journalism

Tagged with

